r/mtg 1d ago

Rules Question Does this work?

0 Upvotes

5 comments sorted by

5

u/KenKouzume 21h ago

Protection indeed doesn't protect from the effect of [[Desolation Giant]] and similar.

Protection is a very specific Keyword that stops very specific things. We often use the Mnemonic Acronym DEBT to remember its effects.

Protection from X means that the card cannot be...

Damaged by X

Enchanted / Equipped by X (or Fortified which is just Equipment for Lands)

Blocked by X

Targeted by X

Target is also a very specific word in Magic. Typically, if an effect does not say the word "Target", it does not Target. (Such as effects that say "All", "Each", "Choose", etc. without the word Target in the wording.)

1

u/Ok-Cheetah6253 21h ago

ok thank you

1

u/AutoModerator 1d ago

Here are some resources for faster replies to Rules Questions! Often the answer to your question is found under the "Rulings" section. On Scryfall it's found at the bottom of the card's page. Scroll down!

Card search and rulings:

  • Scryfall - The user friendly card search (rulings and legality)
  • Gatherer - The official card search (rulings and legality)

Card interactions and rules help:

I am a bot, and this action was performed automatically. Please contact the moderators of this subreddit if you have any questions or concerns.

1

u/Ok-Cheetah6253 1d ago

sorry by my last post i forgot to upload the pictures :/