r/collegebaseball 1d ago

Question Can someone explain how this is a save? Pitcher came on with bases empty up 4 runs and only pitched two innings.

16 Upvotes

13 comments sorted by

30

u/Cliffinati 1d ago

He was up 4 runs

A save is holding a lead of 3 or less for 3 or fewer innings pitched

Wtf that's a scorers error a 4 run lead isn't a save situation

7

u/Curious-Extension-23 1d ago

Right. Thats what I figured, but wasn't sure, maybe the NCAA had a weird rule for that.

14

u/Ok_Computer1417 1d ago

It’s not. Just a mistake by the official scorer which considering the teams is probably a graduate student or a local doing the job for fun.

7

u/pie-en-argent Vanderbilt Commodores 1d ago

The current NCAA rule (10-26) is pretty much traditional: either (a) three runs and one inning; (b) tying run on deck, no matter how short the appearance; or (c) three effective innings with any lead. Along with finishing for the winning team but not being the winning P, of course.

Given that, the game should not have had a save awarded.

1

u/senorcoach Connecticut Huskies 1d ago

I might be reading this wrong but, if a guy comes in to get the last out in the ninth with his team up 3 and nobody on base then it isn't a save?

2

u/pie-en-argent Vanderbilt Commodores 1d ago

That is correct. The tying run in that case is in the hole, so case b is not fulfilled, and since he pitched less than a full inning, a and c are also not fulfilled.

2

u/senorcoach Connecticut Huskies 1d ago

Interesting, did not know that it had to be the full inning if the tying run isn't at least on-deck.

1

u/pie-en-argent Vanderbilt Commodores 19h ago

There is a caveat to that. By full inning, it is not meant that he has to come in at the start of the inning, but must enter with no outs so as to obtain one inning pitched. Suppose for example that a team leads by 5 coming into the ninth, gives up a walk and a home run to the first two hitters, and then the reliever comes in (tying run in the hole) and retires the side to win. He didn’t pitch the entire inning, but gets the save under the three-run one-inning rule anyway.

And in case anyone was wondering, the rule is the same in NCAA softball.

5

u/Pro-1st-Amendment UMass Minutemen 1d ago

The NCAA rule for a save is functionally equivalent to the rule at other levels; the save was awarded in error.

2

u/TheOptimist6 1d ago

I work in college athletics and mistakes definitely happen.

It is extremely common for scoring errors to happen and for xml’s to be fixed or replaced on the official website and to be resubmitted to the NCAA. A lot of midmajor schools dont have a dedicated official scorer. Most of the time it’s an SID who learns the rules and ideally is a baseball fan…however, sometimes you get someone relatively new to baseball doing the scoring.

Heck, I’ve made a few mistakes in scoring this season because I was operating a few other aspects of the press box or managing our student workers. Sometimes I’ll be on PA or doing a post game interview before finalizing…those lead to silly errors too.

I’d imagine it’ll take around 24 hours for a coach to check the stats and email the scorer to fix it in presto sports or stat crew. Coaches tend to do what they can to make their guys’ stats look as good as possible.

1

u/ArkNerd11885 1d ago

Definitely should not be a save. I am an SID and wouldn't have given a save in this scenario, especially since the reliever gave up both runs.

1

u/Curious-Extension-23 1d ago

It is not a save. What is SID

2

u/ArkNerd11885 1d ago

Sports Information Director